Posted on December 28, 2017
Depending on which state you are located in, the DUI laws will be different. That is why it is important to research the laws in your area to help ensure that you are following the correct guidelines. Comparatively, Louisiana has DUI laws that are less strict than states like Arizona and Alaska. However, Louisiana law still has harsh penalties for those who drink and drive. Keep reading to educate yourself on possible repercussions depending on the number of DUI offenses you have if you reside in Louisiana.
1st Offense DUI
If this is your first time receiving a DUI, you may face two days to six months in jail. There could also be fines of up to $1,000. In Louisiana, it is possible that your license will be suspended for three months and an ignition interlock device could be installed in your vehicle to prevent you from driving inebriated in the future.
2nd Offense DUI
In Louisiana, a 2nd offense DUI is very similar to a 1st offense. However, your license will most likely be suspended for a much longer period of time and you may face a longer jail sentence. However, the jail sentence will not exceed six months.
3rd Offense DUI
A third DUI is an extremely serious conviction. Offenders could face up to $2,000 in fines and five years of jail time. An ignition interlock device will almost definitely be installed in your vehicle as well.
4th Offense DUI
Before we discuss the penalties of a 4th DUI, it is important to note that in Louisiana the “washout” period is ten years. This means that after ten years, the DUI is removed from the individual’s record. If you do receive four DUIs within ten years, the fines increase to $5,000 and jail time could be anywhere from 75 days to 30 years.