Posted on August 22, 2017
While divorces can be emotionally and financially difficult for both sides, understanding the process beforehand can help make everything go more smoothly. Divorce costs in Louisiana vary by parish, circumstantial variables, and whether or not both parties are in agreement. Continue reading so you can feel confident in your knowledge about the divorce process and make efficient, logical decisions to avoid surprise expenses along the way.
On average, a Louisiana divorce costs $12,600. While this amount may seem high, a large majority of this sum comes from attorney fees. The party who files for divorce will be charged a fee ranging from $100 to $400 contingent on which parish the petitioner is located. Disregarding attorney fees or the logistics of a more complex divorce, costs will be composed primarily of distributing documents and filing paperwork in the courthouse.
Potential Obstacles Which Could Subsequently Raise Fees
Separation of assets, minor children, and alimony disagreements can all make a divorce exponentially more costly. If both spouses are unable to agree on these issues, experts and witnesses are often needed to make fair, unbiased decisions.
Because complex divorces usually require additional hours consulting with lawyers and more time spent in the courtroom, lawyer fees can become dramatically more expensive. These expenses generally go up if the couple in disagreement has a high net worth. To avoid unnecessary costs, try to come to an agreement outside of the courtroom whenever possible.
Hiring an experienced, diligent lawyer is another way to make the process move more quickly while reaching a better outcome for everyone involved.
Contested Versus Uncontested Divorces
The divorce process can be a very different experience depending on whether or not the divorce is contested or uncontested. In a contested divorce, the parties are unable to come to an agreement about certain aspects of the settlement. This can cause a divorce to be prolonged and an experienced lawyer is generally necessary in these situations.
Additional Factors to Consider
It is important to remember that if you are a resident of Louisiana, you must file for divorce in Louisiana, regardless of where the marriage license was originally granted. Before a divorce can become finalized, Louisiana state laws also require that a married couple remains separated and lives apart for at least 180 days if no children are involved, and an entire year if there are children involved.