DUI Penalties in Louisiana
Posted on July 14, 2017
Drinking while driving is a serious crime in the state of Louisiana and in the country. It is often one of the most regrettable crimes committed in the country as well. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Louisiana, an experienced DUI attorney can help. But be aware of the consequences, as they can be avoided altogether.
First Offense DUI Penalties in Louisiana
DUI’s are taken very seriously in Louisiana and penalties can vary depending on the driver’s BAC at the time of arrest. Penalties for a first offense DUI in Louisiana, or a DWI, include:
- Mandatory jail time of two days minimum and six months maximum. For lesser BAC, sentences can often be served out by performing community service.
- Fines range from $300 to $1,000 and these do not include court costs, fees, and other surcharges incurred during the process.
- Administrative license suspension of 90 days.
- Attendance and completion of alcohol/substance abuse assessment and education program
- May require an ignition interlock device being installed in the driver’s vehicle.
- DUI charges in Louisiana influence charges and sentencing in future DWI arrests for a period of ten years.
Second/Multiple Offense DUI Penalties in Louisiana
If a driver is arrested for a second time for driving under the influence they will receive a fine and mandatory jail time. These penalties range in severity depending on factors such as the driver’s BAC, whether the driver is under age, whether there was a minor in the vehicle, and whether the driver has a commercial license.
- Jail time of 30 days minimum if the offense is within a year of the first one. Maximum of six months.
- A fine of up to $1000 that does not including the court costs for the driver’s case.
- The driver’s license will be suspended for a year.
- Expectation to complete driving school before getting their license back.
- 240 hours of community service to be completed in the driver’s city.
- The driver may be required to complete a substance abuse program.