Posted on February 27, 2017
A DUI is taken very seriously in the state of Louisiana. When it becomes a felony, it can have a very big impact on your life. Typically, you can be charged with a felony DUI during your third conviction, in which you may have to face jail time. No one wants to spend time in jail, especially for a situation that could have been prevented.
If you’ve been arrested for felony DUI charges, you could be at risk for losing your right to vote or own a firearm. It will make it difficult to find a job, get into college or graduate school. And it may leave you with serious fines to repay and an increase in your car insurance premium and even jail or prison time. These are consequences you do not want to face.
In the state of Louisiana, there are three ways a DUI or DWI can become a felony. They include the following:
If this is your third offense
A third drunk driving arrest will result in felony charges. If convicted, you will face a mandatory minimum 45 days in jail, a $2,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, and other penalties.
If this is your fourth offense
The penalties become even more serious with a fourth DWI conviction. You face a mandatory minimum 75 days in jail, a $5,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, and your vehicle may be seized.
When a drunk driving accident results in the loss of a life, you could face a $2,000 to $15,000 fine, five to 30 years imprisonment and other penalties.
Whether this is your first DUI arrest or your third, a DUI/DWI should be taken very seriously. Consult a lawyer to understand all of your options and get the best outcome in your case.